Career Center

Options - Street Sign

WELCOME TO THE SHS CAREER CENTER! WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU WITH A VARIETY OF NEEDS.

 Services we offer include:

  • Information and help choosing and implementing a Beyond High School Plan
  • Finding the right college and help with the application and financial aid process
  • Information about apprenticeships, trade schools and technical programs
  • Information about Military programs and recruiter contact.
  • Sending official high school transcripts
  • Job search information
  • We host a wide variety of college, military, and program visits in the SHS Career Center.

Appointment Requests
Please use the QR Code below to request an appointment with me.


Need More Help?

Jill Bourgault
Career Center Specialist:  jbourgault@sheltonschools.org
Sam Caffey
Counselor (9th Grade): scaffey@sheltonschools.org
Shawn Ames
Counselor (A-G): sames@sheltonschools.org
Diana Gerla
Counselor (H-N): dgerla@sheltonschools.org
Carol Benek
Counselor (O-Z): cbenek@sheltonschools.org
Angie Gourley
Testing Coordinator: agourley@sheltonschools.org


Class of 2022

The time has come to hit the ground running. Here are some things that need your attention this fall.

Fall
: Leave all options open. Remember, you are seniors and your senior year will be busy. October 1st, the FAFSA and WASFA open. To see if you should fill out the FAFSA or WASFA, please go Ready Set Grad for more information about financial aid. To find out more about the FAFSA, go to the FAFSA website to find out what you'll need to file an application.  It's never too early to obtain your FAFSA ID.

You will need to file your FAFSA or WASFA to be eligible for financial aid or scholarships.

ACT and SAT

ACT:  www.actstudent.org
SAT:  www.collegeboard.org


*Please check website to check the registration deadline 

Fall 2021 Update!   

The vast majority of colleges and universities around the nation have suspended the 
SAT and ACT score requirements, permanently, in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.   Universities report that not taking the SAT or ACT will have no bearing on your application status.  To ensure the most accurate information, please visit your college of choice, on their admissions website.